OsmenaPhilippine Currency During World War TwoWainrightPhilippine Currency
During World War Two


Cebu is a long, narrow province in the central Philippines between Negros and Bohol. It was at Cebu City that the seat of government for the Philippine Commonwealth was established after the fall of Manila to Japanese forces at the end of 1941.  Millions of Cebu notes were to be placed into circulation on the islands of Leyte, Samar, Bohol and Masbate, all then unoccupied by Japanese forces.Many of these notes were counterstamped by the local municipalities in the provinces that they circulated in. These notes command a premium above the regular notes from the Cebu province.  Two provinces which relied heavily on Cebu notes are Leyte and Surigao.

* Cebu was believed to not have had time to issue municipal notes before the occupation, but apparently at least 2 municipalities did just that.  These notes are extremely rare.

Municipalities List


Notes issued by Cebu


Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home1/jmarcum/public_html/guerrilla-money.com/comments/comments_show.php on line 33

Deprecated: Function mysql_db_query() is deprecated in /home1/jmarcum/public_html/guerrilla-money.com/comments/comments_show.php on line 37

Deprecated: mysql_db_query(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_query() instead in /home1/jmarcum/public_html/guerrilla-money.com/comments/comments_show.php on line 37

No comments have been provided.

Your Name:

Your Location:


Your Comment:

Security check *

security image